Scott Burchett Named 2017 Texas League Executive Of The Year 

In Frisco Roughriders by admin


Bill Valentine Award Voted On By Texas League Peers

FRISCO, Texas (Sept. 27, 2017) – Frisco RoughRiders Chief Operating Officer Scott Burchett is the 2017 winner of the Bill Valentine Executive of the Year Award, as announced today by the Texas League.

“On behalf of the entire RoughRiders family, congratulations to Scott for this richly-deserved honor,” RoughRiders General Partner & CEO Chuck Greenberg said. “Scott’s leadership through his entire tenure with the RoughRiders has proved invaluable in positioning the Riders as one of the premier franchises in all of Minor League Baseball. His vision, loyalty and unwavering work ethic are felt in every department and throughout the organization. To be recognized by his peers in the Texas League as the Bill Valentine Executive of the Year is a testament to Scott’s continued excellence and commitment to the RoughRiders’ success.”

Burchett recently completed his 14th season with the RoughRiders. Burchett played an instrumental role in organizing the successful operation of the Texas League All-Star Game and associated activities on June 26 and 27. The team welcomed more than 480,000 fans to Dr Pepper Ballpark in 2017, marking the 13th consecutive season that the franchise has led both the Texas League and Double-A Baseball in attendance. Riders Outpost, the club’s Official Team Store, also broke the franchise’s all-time merchandise sales record for a single season.

“I’m extremely grateful and humbled to receive this award from the Texas League,” Burchett said. “This is truly a tremendous honor and underscores all the hard work and dedication of our entire staff. What they do on a daily basis is the reason Dr Pepper Ballpark is a special place for our fans.”

Burchett primarily oversees the club’s ballpark and team operations, corporate partner services, food and beverage, and merchandise. He served as the team’s lead contact for nearly $8 million in capital improvements to Dr Pepper Ballpark since the start of the 2015 season, highlighted by construction of the award-winning Choctaw Lazy River, the largest water feature in a professional sporting venue in the world.

His leadership in cultivating corporate partner relationships was instrumental in the team setting a new single-season record for sponsorship revenue during the 2017 season. Since late in 2014, Burchett has helped lead the successful transition between the Mandalay ownership model and the new philosophies implemented by Greenberg and his new ownership group and management team.

The Bill Valentine Executive of the Year Award is voted on by executives representing all eight Texas League teams.

The RoughRiders open the 2018 season April 5 at Dr Pepper Ballpark. Season tickets and ticket packages are now available at 731-9200 and the RoughRiders Ticket Office.

About the Frisco RoughRiders
The Frisco RoughRiders are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers and play their games at beautiful Dr Pepper Ballpark in Frisco, Texas. The team was founded in 2003 and has finished first among all Double-A franchises in attendance in each of the last 13 seasons (2005-2017). In August 2014, the RoughRiders were purchased by an ownership group led by Chuck Greenberg. The new ownership group, together with the city of Frisco, has spearheaded numerous major franchise improvements over the past two seasons, investing more than $8 million in a wide array of facility upgrades and improvements, including a new state-of-the-art HD video board, sound system, Bull Moose Saloon, InTouch Grille, Riders Outpost Team Store, and the newest and biggest creation, the 174-foot Choctaw Lazy River. The upgrades made prior to the 2015 season earned the Riders and the City of Frisco “Best Ballpark Renovation” of 2015 by Ballpark Digest. The same publication also honored the Choctaw Lazy River as the best ballpark improvement over $1 million for the 2016 season. More than 130 former RoughRiders players have gone on to play Major League Baseball, including All-Stars Chris Davis, Adrian Gonzalez, Ian Kinsler, and Nelson Cruz, as well as current Rangers stars Elvis Andrus, Rougned Odor, and Nomar Mazara. For more information on the Frisco RoughRiders and Dr Pepper Ballpark, please visit or contact Art Garcia at AGarcia@RidersBaseball.comor Ryan Rouillard at

By admin

Facebook Twitter Google+

About: "FOL articles are from our trusted partners. If you have an article or press release about something Frisco, please send it to for publication consideration."